02 Mar 2022

Sports leaders and industry experts form composition of inaugural FITEQ Committees

FITEQ has announced the composition of 15 new committees

The International Teqball Federation (FITEQ) has announced the composition of 15 new committees, which will guide the future direction of the world’s fastest growing sport. The FITEQ Committees, which consist of sports leaders, teqball officials, and industry experts, have a 50:50 ratio of women and men, reflecting FITEQ’s commitment to promoting gender equality in the sport.

The majority of FITEQ Committees will act in a consultative capacity to the FITEQ Executive Board, advising on key aspects of the federation and its role in developing teqball and para teqball globally. This is with the exception of the Ethics and Disciplinary Committee and the Medical and Anti-Doping Committee, which serve in a judicial capacity, and the Athletes’ Committee which will ultimately be an independent body that represents the views of athletes within FITEQ.

Following eligibility checks and the FITEQ Executive Board’s approval of the FITEQ Committees, members of the following committees have been announced:

  • Athletes’ Committee
  • Legal Affairs Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Sport Development Committee
  • Medical & Anti-Doping Committee
  • Technical & Coaching Committee
  • Scientific & Research Committee
  • Women’s Committee
  • Para Sport Committee
  • CSR and Sport and Active Society Committee
  • Ethics & Disciplinary Committee
  • Governance Committee
  • Athlete Status & Transfer Committee
  • Athlete Entourage Committee
  • Sustainability

The FITEQ Committees comprise of between three and five members and include a variety of experts from inside and outside of sport. IOC Members Dagmawit Berhane (Finance Committee), Lydia Nsekera (Sport Development Committee), as well as IOC Athletes’ Commission member Nadin Dawani (Athlete Entourage Committee) and IOC Athletes’ Entourage Commission member and WADA Education Committee member Anna Mataure Mguni (Governance Committee) will bring invaluable experience to the teqball family.

Additionally, former IOC Marketing Director Michael Payne (Finance Committee), sports integrity expert Michele Veroken (Ethics and Disciplinary Committee), Jordan Olympic Committee Secretary General Nasser Majali (Sustainability Committee), and CANOC President Brian Lewis (Scientific and Research Committee), are several of the leading figures who will help guide FITEQ’s future activities.

The full composition of the committees can be found here.

FITEQ General Secretary Marius Vizer Jr commented, “This is a major step in the development of our sport and we are really looking forward to hearing new ideas from a wide range of industry experts. We have chosen to have relatively a small number of members on each committee as we believe this will ensure the discussions lead to specific and targeted action. Furthermore, we are delighted to have gender equality on our committees, which will help drive our efforts to be an inclusive sport.