European Tour continued in Chelm whilst first ever V4 champions crowned in Telki

This weekend saw thrilling teqball action across Europe as the second edition of the European Teqball Tour took place in Chelm, Poland, whilst the Hungarian town of Telki hosted the historic first instalment of the V4 Teqball Gala.

In Chelm, Europe’s elite players competed across men’s doubles and mixed doubles, with teams vying to win the József Bem Chelm Trophy. The men’s doubles final saw the Serbian team of Nikola Mitro and Bogdan Marojevic, who are ranked 10th and 11th in the men’s doubles World Ranking, overcome the Hungarian world number 1 and 2 of Csaba Banyik and Adam Blazsovics with a 2-1 (12-7, 7-12, 12-4) victory.

The French duo of Julien Grondin and Hugo Rabeux, ranked joint 8th, claimed bronze after defeating another Hungarian pairing, Adam Bako and Barna Kovacsfi, in the third place match.

Mitro experienced even more success by winning the mixed doubles event with his teammate, and fellow Serbian Maja Umicevic, again beating Banyik in the final, who was competing alongside Zsanett Janicsek. Blazsovics and partner Lea Vasas took home bronze.

In the inaugural V4 Teqball Gala in Telki, the Visegrád Group countries of Hungary, Czech Republic, Poland, and Slovakia were each represented by a men’s doubles team. The four teams played each other in a round-robin format group stage, with the top two qualifying for the final, and the bottom battling it out in a bronze medal match.

After winning all three group stage matches, Balazs Katz and Balazs Kriztian Velkey went on to win the tournament for Hungary to become the first ever V4 Teqball Champions, defeating Lukas Flaks and Petr Bubniak of the Czech Republic 2-0 (12-8, 12-5) in the final. The dominant Hungarian team only conceded one set throughout the entire event.

Slovakia were represented by brothers Lukas and Adrian Hricov, who rallied to achieve bronze despite finishing bottom of the group stage. They secured a 2-0 (12-8, 12-9) victory over Polish representatives Karol Ziolkowski and Piotr Pinkiewicz.

ALL INFORMATION & RESULTS of the European Teqball Tour - Józszef Bem Chelm Trophy - HERE

ALL INFORMATION & RESULTS of the Telki V4 Teqball Gala- HERE

11 Nov 2021